Spring is Here, and the End is Near

I have the privilege of teaching high school seniors.  This truly is a privilege.  Don’t get me wrong.

But understand something.  The flowers are blooming.  The temperatures are rising.  Prom has come and gone.  Most of them have their college acceptance letters.  There are fifteen days of class before graduation (they are counting, not me!).

Let’s just say their attention is a bit . . . divided!  Nonetheless, I love them!!

The other day I found the following story told by the University of Chicago professor and church historian, Martin Marty.  It made me chuckle and seemed apropos for the time of year.

Then Jesus took his disciples up to the mountain.  And gathering them around him, he taught them saying, “Blessed are they that mourn.  Blessed are you when you suffer.  Be glad and rejoice, for your reward is great in heaven.”

Then Simon Peter said, “Are we supposed to know this?”  And Andrew said, “Will we have a test on this?”  And Philip said, “I don’t have any paper.”  And Bartholomew said, “Do we have to turn this in?”  And John said, “The other disciples didn’t have to learn this.”  And Luke said, “What’s this got to do with real life?”  And Mark said, “Huh?”  And Matthew said, “Can I go to the bathroom?”  Then one of the Pharisees who was present asked to see Jesus’ lesson plan and inquired, “Where are your objectives and your required competencies in the cognitive domain?”  Thomas, who had missed the sermon, came to Jesus privately and said, “Did we do anything important today?”

And Jesus wept.

